A Mandatory Reporting State

Identity Theft in Maine

Credit Freeze Law in Maine

  • Freeze Law - 10 MRSA §1313-C
    • Effective date: Feb. 1, 2006.
    • Applies to all consumers
    • Fees: No fees on ID theft victims who provide a police report. Others pay up
    • to $10 to place, remove, temporarily suspend, or have PIN reissued, and $12
    • to lift for a specific creditor.
    • for instructions on how to place a security freeze in Maine:
      www.consumersunion.org/pdf/security/securityME.pdf
    • Place the freeze over the phone
      • Equifax - 800-685-1111
      • Experian - 888-397-3742
      • TransUnion - 800-680-7289

Contacts in Maine

Credit Reporting Agencies (CRAs) - Please refer to ITRC Solution 2:  Credit Reporting Agencies Contact Information

Other Resources

 

 

 

ITRC Sponsors and Supporters 

 

 

 

 

Go to top

 

The TMI Weekly

Breaches here, identity theft there and invasions of privacy everywhere... Should you be worried and, if so, how can you protect yourself? Sign up now to receive The TMI Weekly and get the latest hot topics in identity theft, data breaches and privacy and helpful information on how to protect your information.